home releases reviews contact
ESMERINE -- Aurora

Release Date: 31 May 2005
Duration: 40 min.

1. quelques mots pleins d'ombre
2. histories repeating as one thousand hearts mend
3. mados
4. why she swallows bullets and stones
5. ebb tide, spring tide, neap tide, flood
6. le rire de l'ange

Esmerine is the duo of Bruce Cawdron and Beckie Foon, known for their work with godspeed you! black emperor, Set Fire to Flames, Triple-Burner, Fifths of Seven, and Thee Silver Mt. Zion Memorial Orchestra & Tra-La-La Band.

Aurora consists of six tracks, 40 minutes of sweepingly cinematic music arranged for cello, drums, glockenspiel, marimba, melodic percussion, and found sounds. Mike Moya (Hrsta), Harris Newman (solo, Hrsta), Jessie Carrot (Jackie-O Motherfucker) and Howard Bilerman also contribute occasional outbursts of electric guitar, bass, and percussion.

Recorded by Howard Bilerman at Montrealís Hotel 2 Tango and mastered by Harris Newman at Grey Market Mastering. Available in beautiful hand-packaged CD and 12" vinyl formats.